the Ghost of new years past

I know it’s not even Christmas yet, but what I’m going to say here is somewhat time sensitive, so I wanted to put this out well in advance of 2012.

So, where will you be at 12:00am, January 1, 2012?

Actually, I’ve always been rather ambivalent, even indifferent about new years eve. I just don’t relate well to all the hype that people attach to it. Out with the old, in with the new, resolutions no one keeps, and of course, Times Square!

I’m not going to even get into all the calendar stuff, or how the date we mark is fairly arbitrary. If you really think about it, YOUR new year starts on your birthday, not Jan 1st.

Bear with me here a moment, and I’ll get to my point, I promise.

How do you feel about past new years eves? Do any stand out? what made them special to you?

If we’re going to mark a day and make it significant, make it the start of a new year, then we should also make it meaningful, and fill it with the essence of everything  we are striving to be.

There have been a few new years eves that I have liked, even loved. I spent them at church, worshiping.

What better way for a believer to celebrate the beginning of a new year than in praise and worship of God? These services started around 10:00pm and ran through midnight, and all we did was worship. No messages, no offerings, no potluck. Just worship. And we were changed and recharged as we began the new year.

I’m quite serious when I say this could be such a powerful event, if churches all over our city began to institute new years eve services. We would all be worshiping and praying in unity, as we ushered the new year in.

If you haven’t already made plans for this new years eve, why not look for a church that is holding a service, or better yet, talk to the leadership at your own church. It might not be too late to set one up and get the word out. I think new years eve would begin to take on a whole new dimension.

So, really, where are you going to be at 12:00am, January 1, 2012?

Leave a Reply

